All my products and services are free. All my costs are met by donations I receive from my users. If you enjoy using any of my products, please donate to support me. Thank you for your support. Tom Speirs

Patreon

Anyone playing around with MiSTer?

tthurman

The Mister is a neat package that offers very high accuracy and compatibility, with a healthy and ever growing dev base. I was thinking of making a "Mister NES" or "Mister Genesis" thread where I build one in a Mini console. I'm just kinda burned out on mini consoles, RPis, and emulation in general. I follow the progress, but have been chasing the OG hardware trail instead of FPGA.

I recommend the Bliss-box for your controller needs.

On 4/15/2020 at 2:27 AM, Tom Speirs said:

Looks interesting. Are they actually available? Looking for time to waste these days!

Yes, I've been keeping an eye on them for the past several months now and they advanced a good bit from these videos show.   Those videos make a good introduction as to what they can do, which is why I picked them for this post.

Yeah, I do kinda want to overhaul my arcade cabinet. Originally I put a TV in vertically, which is an awesome way to play vertical scrolling SHUMPS, but the input lag associated with the LCD and software emulation in MAME makes me interested in getting a MISTER and the Analog add-on board to run an arcade monitor. This would offer a more genuine experience without the headache. No need for Jamma converters like the HAS, line level audio/video voltage discrepancy adjustments between arcade boards and TV, sync stripping, none of that nonsense. I already have the X-Arcade Tankstick with trackball, so that would hook up strait to the MISTER via USB. Honestly it sounds easier than trying to get the right video card capable of outputting to an arcade monitor.

Unfortunately, in means no more GameEX and the beautiful custom theme I made for the arcade. I'm on the fence about it.

10 hours ago, RIP-Felix said: