All my products and services are free. All my costs are met by donations I receive from my users. If you enjoy using any of my products, please donate to support me. Thank you for your support. Tom Speirs

Patreon

Need Some Advice With Getting A New PC

KRC

Well the time has come, I've finally raised some cash and have decided to get a new PC setup, I just needed a few pointers on what to go for as I'm no PC expert.

I have a budget of £300 - £350 (roughly $500), I basically want everything that can be emulated to be present on my new PC, and also play modern PC games without a hitch.

Its not really a setup thats needed, just the tower as it will run through my HD TV.

Any ideas guys?

I'd hit New Egg and build my own. The nice thing if you go the tower route is that you can start moderate and advance as you can afford. I'd probably go with something Asus for the mobo that would support an i5 or i7 chip. Win 7 x64 with at least 8GB of RAM. Integrated sound is fine, but you will probably want to go with a higher-end GPU with at least 1GB of DDR3 RAM on the card. You will want to have Dv-i and HDMI graphics and sound support through the GPU. You will also want to be able to play Bluray Discs so a player would be a good thing as well.